What a Blow to the Ego that Would Be

If you woke up one morning to discover that you had a long lost twin, what would your first thoughts be? Probably something to the effect of,

“How did I not know I had a twin?” or “When do I get to meet them?”

The finding of your clone would be shock enough, but what if they turned out to be more attractive than you? Yes, I know, how is that possible? If you look exactly the same, it’s not a reasonable scenario. However, over the years I have had my fun with hair dye, extensions, fashion risks (not all of them were that bad) and weight fluctuation. I have found that some looks suit me better than others, which I’m sure most people have found for themselves as well. So, who’s to say that my ”long lost twin” hasn’t found the ideal hairstyle and wardrobe along with a rocking body that even Shakira would be jealous of? As vain as this all may sound, no one can deny what a huge blow to the ego that would be.

When I brought up this point to my dad, he looked at me like I was crazy and laughed saying that I put way too much of an emphasis on my looks. While I know that I’m not the most vain person to ever walk this earth, there is some truth to that statement. I can get a little too hung up on my appearance at times (what girl doesn’t?). With that said, I decided to test my theory on someone else.

My older brother definitely knows how to take care of himself, but by no stretch of the imagination would I consider him vain. When asked the question though, he smiled and laughed stating very matter of fact,

“Wow, that would suck!”

That in itself was enough to validate my point and reassure me that I’m not completely crazy.

The reality is, very few people ever encounter a situation like this one. I’m sure when they do, competing in looks is the least of their worries. I don’t know about you, but the discovery of a ”long lost twin” takes priority over insecurities like that in my book. However, in hypothetical terms where this occurrence is much more common, and the concern isn’t all that petty, all I can say is, I hope I turn out to be the twin giving fashion advice and dieting tips.

Leave a Reply

