What’s not to Smile About?

I find myself commonly being asked by people, “How are you always so happy?”

I’ve always been a pretty happy-go-lucky type of girl, but not always was I asked that question. The answer is very simple and it is always the response I give, “I just find things to be happy about.”

I went through a pretty dark period in my life where I faced a daily struggle to find happiness. I often wondered when I would be happy and if I ever could find happiness. It is not an uncommon feeling to face and I’m sure that most of you can relate. At the time I felt that nothing in my life was going right. A series of unfortunate events had forced my life to take a turn for the worse and down a path that I never would have dreamed of walking. While I accepted the responsibility of my actions and faced the consequences, a lot of what was happening to me was out of my control. I felt completely helpless and lost. Frankly, I had nothing to be happy about.

As time went on and I continued to struggle with a lack of bliss in my life, I came to a realization about something. The only way I was going to be happy was if I created my own happiness. At the time I felt like I didn’t have a whole lot to be happy about. Eventually though, I came to understand that even in the darkest of days, there were still beautiful things in this world that I could smile about. It’s really the simple things in life that can bring forth joy, therefore, I turned my focus towards that. If I saw a cupcake in the window of a bakery that I thought was just simply adorable, I would let myself feel happy about it. If I saw a little girl wearing her princess Halloween costume in the grocery store in the middle of March, I would smile at her innocence and feed off of that energy. I soon found that there were a million things that could reverse the frown I wore on my face, and soon enough, my conscience effort to find things to be jolly about became unconscious.

Before I knew it, I was smiling about everything. Not much in my life had changed, and I still found myself struggling with my circumstances. Regardless of my feelings, letting the little things uplift me brought me to a happy state in my life, even when I was truly unhappy with the person I was.

As time went on, things came to a resolution, and the struggles I faced lessened with each passing day. I found myself slowly becoming happy with the way my life was going and the person that I was developing into. Finally I could say that I was generally happy with my life. My new found ability to find beauty in all I could only increased my levels of joy. Of course I still had the daily stresses that just come with life, but having been through a lot already and seeing that the end result was positive, I realized that everything I faced, no matter how unsettling, was only temporary. There would always be a light at the end of the tunnel, and as long as I kept a positive attitude, I would allow a glow from within to guide me through any tunnel I would walk.

I would be lying if I said that I never let anything get me down or upset me. I’m only human so of course I have my days. However, even on my worst day, I still live it out with a smile. When I feel that I have nothing to be all that happy about, I look around and find something to make me happy. When everything in my life is perfect, I’m just that much more vibrant. . When life gives you lemons, make lemonade, and when life hands you a gift wrapped basket of sweets, wash them down with the lemonade you made. Allow the happiness you find during times of tribulations to enhance the glee you feel during times of abundance.

So, when asked the question, ‘How are you always so happy?” For me to reply with, “I just find things to be happy about.” Is as simple as the jovial occurrences that make me smile.

4 thoughts on “What’s not to Smile About?

Leave a Reply

