Work then Play???

It’s been over a month since my last post and I can feel the withdrawals of creation forming within me. The last month has been busy and exciting with changes and new opportunities in my life which has compelled me to focus my time in places other than writing. While the recent events have been enjoyable, letting it distract me from my passion is disappointing. It made me realize something though. It made me realize how often we let ourselves get carried away with the busyness of life and pull our attention from not only the things we love but the simple pleasures that we often take for granted.  

Many of us find ourselves overwhelmed with work, school, kids, family etc. We are in a constant battle with time, and as often as we kill it, we are yet to be victorious. Why is this? Why does it feel like we have so little time yet so much to do? Is it because we bite off more than we can chew? Is it because we lack  time management? Or is it because we have forgotten to enjoy the simple things in life that truly do matter therefore magnifying the little amount of time we actually do spend making ourselves happy?

One thing I have found myself doing this last month is thinking, “I would really like to sit down and write but I just don’t have time right now.” Or “I would really love to update my blog but I need to get this done first.” What ends up happening is once I am finished with everything that I have set out to do, I no longer feel the energy or desire to write. I have burnt myself out on other activities and am left with only enough energy to veg out in front of the TV or go to bed. If only I had made the time before I worked myself too tired to sit down and write would I have been able to feel the satisfaction of accomplishing and creating. Since writing is a love of mine; a soothing form of relaxation that calms my mind while simultaneously stimulating it, I am able to focus all my energy on it for hours leaving myself still charged and motivated to take on my daily responsibilities.

I think a common mistake that people (including myself) make is saving our hobbies and leisure activities for after all our work is done. We live by the rule, work then play. But maybe mixing it up a bit isn’t such a bad idea. Why do we wait till we have no more energy left to enjoy the things we love. A quick game of golf before work isn’t going to take away from your focus while doing your job. However spending a long day at the office may bring you to where you aren’t really even in the mood to play by the time you are off. Repeat this cycle for a month and before you know it you’ll be saying, “I wish I could play golf more often, I just don’t have the time with work.”

Fun and games aren’t just about forgetting all sense of responsibility, they are about self care. It is important that we take care of ourselves and allow time to unwind. By allowing yourself to become engrossed in hobbies and activities which feed your soul, you will find that when you do sit down to do your work or tend to your families needs, you will be that much more capable and efficient by having met your own already.

Stop letting the craziness of life get in the way of doing the things you love. Start viewing your love for painting, surfing or even horseback riding as something just as important to make time for as that twelve o’clock lunch meeting with your new client. Not only that, but realize that it is. So, next time you take on a new project at school or work, take an hour before you start to dive into that new novel you have just been dying to read. Your responsibilities aren’t going anywhere, but your sanity is what you may be at risk of losing.

One thought on “Work then Play???

Leave a Reply

