No Passion without Pain

I have spent my entire day in ruins over writers block. I have so many ideas and topics that I want to pour out onto paper, yet every time I start to form a sentence, everything seems to go awry. Finally, after hours, I had a sudden epiphany. I was standing in the bathroom drying my hair feeling angry and defeated when I thought to myself, “How is it possible that the very thing I get so much joy out of is causing so much distress?”

It’s funny how that works, just like so many other things in life. Love, for example, has the capability to make us feel invincible. Light as a feather and full of pure euphoric joy! However, it also has the power to destroy you. Water, something we cannot live without has the ability to drown us. Fire which brings us warmth and resource can burn us beyond repair. Why is it that all these things, all these essentials that cause us to thrive can also cause us to perish?

There are two thoughts that I take away from this realization. The first one is this: anything that can bring you any great sense of purpose and joy, can also cause you great harm. Furthermore, anything that carries grave danger or darkness also has the power to brighten your life and potentially rescue you. In other words, anything worth having is worth hurting for, regardless of the order in which it happens.

This brings me to my next thought. For every bad there is a good, and for every good there is a bad. No matter what trials you face through your life, there will always be a bright side to the situation, and a light at the end of the tunnel. You can always rest assured knowing that any turmoil you feel is only temporary. When the times of tribute and prosperity overwhelm your world, absorb every minute of it and enjoy it to the fullest. Remember to never take anything for granted, because you never know when you may lose what you value most. Find a balance in which your concerns of the future don’t cloud your enjoyment of today.

Life is full of ups and downs with risks that we must take. When you’re up, take nothing for granted and appreciate every bit of it. When you’re down, know that there is only good to come. Take risks in life knowing that anything worth having is worth risking. Love with every fiber in your being regardless of the heartbreak that it may threaten. If it’s not worth hurting for then it’s not worth having. There is no passion in safety, but there can be safety in passion.

One thought on “No Passion without Pain

  1. I agree whole heartedly. In Ecceleiastes in talks about a “time for every season”. Its always a good practice in life to expect change and grow with sorrow and joy, comfort and pain. It is all the more sweeter when it is a little hard to come by.
    I love you my Ellie Belle
    marme

Leave a Reply

