Here and Now

Just last night I enjoyed what I think to be one of the most beautiful ballets of all time, The Nutcracker. As I sat in the balcony stacked seat next to a stranger who I soon forgot to notice due to the intrigue the performance created, I realized something. As the thought crossed my mind, I should come to events like this more often, I noticed that this thought has entered my mind on many occasions. Of course flooded with captivated admiration in the presence of the ballerinas twisting and twirling in graceful magnificence, my attention was pulled to the stage. Walking out the grand doors of the venue and into the icy December air, I turned to my father and continued with the thought that I had allowed to momentarily plague my mind before.

“I always say that I want to come to more plays or ballets and things of the sort, so why don’t I?” I said asking the question without really expecting an answer.

With that statement being said, when was the last time you found yourself saying something like that to yourself or perhaps even another? So many times I find myself vocalizing that thought whether it be in regards to a ballet or play or even something as simple as enjoying the company of a friend during a walk around the park. How is it that we seem to so easily forget the things we truly enjoy doing?  I always say I want to do more of “this”, yet I never do it. But why? Is there even a good reason?

A few months ago I wrote a blog titled “Work Hard Play Harder.” The idea behind that piece was to realize that the things that we love doing regardless of it being characterized as a leisure activity are just as important as tasks we consider to be priorities. I discussed how I felt that it was essential to make time for these things in order to practice not only self-care but to allow a healthy balance of work and play. On that note, I write this blog today hoping to express the importance of living in the here and now with an effort to stop saying “someday I will do this,” and start doing it today.

It is time we all stop saying, “I should really do this more,” or “I would love to go here more,” and start doing these things. Sure, sometimes there can be an issue of time, money or convenience, but that is not always the case. Just last night I was pondering the obvious idea that I wish I went to more plays. In all honesty, if you were to ask me why I don’t attend more, I would have no legitimate reason to provide.

The truth is, we all get so comfortable in our everyday way of thinking and doing that we forget there are other things out there just waiting to be explored. There seems to be a fear of stepping out from what we know and considering the unknown. How many times have you responded with something like,” I just don’t do it,” when someone asks you why you don’t normally partake in activities you enjoy. Stop letting your comfortable cocoon of “regular” shield you from living. Whether it be plays, sports games or even painting on the weekends, start making the irregular things you treasure a regular occurrence. Just because something isn’t familiar does not mean it is unattainable. Become familiar with the unfamiliar and start living. Life is too short to always say, “Maybe someday I will.”

2 thoughts on “Here and Now

  1. Thanks for another enlightening post. I look forward to your posts and hope you keep it up. I like that what you post makes me think!

Leave a Reply

