Triumph in Times of Trials

It’s in times of grave suffering that we grow the most. On a day to day basis, when life is moving at a gentle pace and your daily routine is at a smooth flow, it is easy to remember that in difficult trials, we must focus on the bright side. Most important, we must give it up to God. However, when looking demons dead in the eye, every piece of wisdom we carry can soon be cast aside.

Recently, I have found myself back in the Grace of God. God had never left me, but I had left him. I have reached a new beginning in my life and embarked upon on a Spiritual Journey to grow closer to him. I have been blessed with a man that knows God as well and desires to deepen his relationship with him. He has been amazingly supportive in my life and continues to encourage my walk with Jesus.

Just a couple days ago I was broadsided with a crude reminder from my past and bombarded with feelings of pain that as a result I have been scared with. I found myself giving into the emotions and the past had yet again a hold on the present.

I am the type of person that never looks at the glass half empty, but rather half full. I spoke once before about finding the little things in life to smile about, even when it seems that there is nothing to feel joy over. Even in moments of trials, I try to focus on the good. However, we all have our moments of weakness, and sometimes, we don’t practice what we preach as diligently as we ought to.

I had a choice today when I was flooded with an overwhelming sense of pain. I had the choice to turn to God and give it all up to him. While I didn’t turn to destructive vices that would once masque my sorrows, I didn’t give it up to God as whole heatedly as I could have. ¬†Therefore, God reached out to me.

As I said before, I have been blessed with a man that has been a great encouragment and supports me in ways I never thought possible. He told me to give it up to God, to triumph in my trials and be grateful for where I am today and not mourn in the life I was once living. He was right. I turned to my bible and God and gave it up to him. Immediately, I felt the burden lifted and found myself realizing something we all know but often fail to practice.

No matter how bad or difficult past trials have been, the key word in that statement is past. It is no longer, and therefore has no purpose in being brought into the present. Rather than feeling sad about tragedy, be happy about the beauty that was born as a result. If I hadn’t faced and been forced to overcome sadness, I wouldn’t be where I am today. Not only that, but I have to be grateful that the trials I did persevere through weren’t worse than they could have been, because the reality is, it can always be worse, even when it feels like it’s as bad as it could ever get.

Sometimes the biggest blessings in life are disguised through years of struggle. If it wasn’t for the things I’ve been through in my life, I would never have found the man I am with today. For me personally, that is a blessing born from what I once saw as nothing more than a curse of hatred. Whether you are facing your trials today, or mending the scars that remain, remember, from dirt grows flowers. Light can’t be seen without the presence of darkness and bliss isn’t appreciated without it replacing with what was once despair. No matter how severe your pain is, there is nothing more powerful than the mercy of God casting away your demons. If you allow him to, he will pull you away from your misery. Perhaps you won’t see it immediately, but have faith that he will, and soon enough, you will see roses growing from the soil of today.

3 thoughts on “Triumph in Times of Trials

  1. Wow Elise, I really liked this one. I’m looking forwards to discussing this one with you. It was timely reading for me. I love you, Gramma

Leave a Reply

